LibGuides: The Seven Years War in colonial America: Researching the 1750s & 60s

Primary sources on the Web

Perspectives on the French and Indian War: Primary Source Set
This collection of documents, images, maps, and artifacts from the Digital Public Library of America provides various perspectives on the war.
Digital History: Colonial Era documents
A website developed by the College of Education at the University of Houston to support teachers and students of American history. This link will take you to the page of primary source documents from the Colonial era (beginning in the 1400s). Scroll down until you reach the documents dating from the mid-1700s.
Fort Necessity & the French and Indian War
Primary sources related to the conflict at Fort Necessity, which marked the beginning of the French and Indian War.
France in America
A project collaboration between the U.S. Library of Congress and France's national library, the Bibliothèque nationale de France. Contains documents and commentary on the French and Indian War, the American Revolution, and the Louisiana Purchase.

Secondary sources from the Library's online databases

These resources are provided through the KUA Library's collection. For off-campus use, a username and password is required.

Encyclopedia Britannica Academic
This online reference source is a great starting point in your research.
Salem History & Literature
A collection of ebooks available through the library. The ebook "Great Events from History" contains entries on the Seven Years War and the French and Indian War, as well as related subtopics such as the Albany Congress.
Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
Excellent source for scholarly (academic) articles, with thousands of journals going back to 1975 or further.

Off campus?

For access to the databases from off campus, email the librarians for passwords.

Books in the Library

Here are a few relevant books from the library's print collection. These, along with some other books on this topic, have been placed in a special Reserves section in the Reading Room for this project. To find more, try searching the library catalog.

The Revolutionary Period, 1750-1783
ON RESERVE in the Library Reading Room. A collection of essays by different historians, five of which deal with the Seven Years War.
The War That Made America
ON RESERVE in the Library Reading Room. Examines how the French and Indian War had a definitive impact on history, overturning the balance of power on two continents and laying the groundwork for the American Revolution.
The French and Indian War
ISBN: 187866882X
ON RESERVE in the Library Reading Room. This collection of primary sources provides insight into the causes, factions, and impacts of the conflict.
Native American Testimony
ON RESERVE in the Library Reading Room. A history of Native American-white relations based off of primary source documents, as seen though Indian eyes and told through Indian voices.