LibGuides: Humanities: World Religions, Comparative Mythology, and the Search for Meaning: Judaism

The Hallowing of Life: Presentations on Jewish Observances and Rituals - assignment description

This will be a brief presentation with the objective of helping us to understand how Jews hallow life. In class, you will choose ONE of the terms below. You will then produce a brief presentation that will introduce us to the observation or ritual.

Observances and rituals:	Requirements:
Kaddish/Sitting Shiva (burial rites) Hanukkah (holiday) Sukkot (holiday) Purim (holiday) Yom Kippur (high holiday) Rosh Hoshanah (high holiday) Kosher (food purification) Sabbath/ Shabbat Passover/seder Mitzvah/Mitzvoh Bar/Bat Mitzvah Bris Birth and naming Minyan (prayer) t'fillin/talit (objects of devotion)	No fewer than THREE minutes; no more than FIVE. One title slide with term and definition One to three images with citation(s) Works Cited slide (CP: two sources; Honors: three sources) one source must be from a library database for both CP and Honors

Books in the Library

Jewish Holidays
Call Number: 296.43 S8975j
ISBN: 0060912251
A comprehensive guide to the practice and meaning of Jewish holidays. Includes readings and inspirational commentary.
A Short Introduction to Judaism
Call Number: 296 C678s
ISBN: 1851681450
A clear and comprehensive introduction to the Jewish religion as it is practiced today. Explores Judaism as a religion and as a way of life, providing information on Jewish family and community customs, as well as on the beliefs and traditions that shape the Jewish faith.
The Handy Religion Answer Book
Call Number: 200 REN
ISBN: 1578591252
This book answers more than 800 questions related to the history, leaders, organization, symbols, beliefs, and membership of the world's major religions, including Judaism.
World Religions
Call Number: 200 BOW
ISBN: 9780756617721
A comprehensive overview of the beliefs and practices of a variety of different world religions draws on religious artifacts, explanations of sacred texts, paintings, architecture, and other teachings to provide explanations of Christianity, Judaism, Islam, Hinduism, Buddhism, Jainism, Sikhism, and other faiths.

Websites on the Internet

My Jewish Learning
A nondenominational website of Jewish information and education. Provides articles on all aspects of Judaism and Jewish customs for all ages and backgrounds.

Use the search bar at the top to find articles on your topic, or browse the menu: "Celebrate" for the Jewish holidays, "Live" for the different rites of passage such as birth, bar/bat mitzvah, marriage, etc.

Library Resources Online

Oxford Reference
Oxford Reference is a database of reference e-books, all published by Oxford University Press. It includes many relevant e-books, such as The Oxford Dictionary of the Jewish Religion and A Concise Companion to the Jewish Religion.
Encyclopedia of Religion ebook
To the right of the publication information, use the search bar to search the full text of the e-book for your term or topic. There are also some great general entries such as "Rites of Passage: Jewish Rites” and "Judaism: An Overview". If your search isn't successful, try using alternate spellings.

Citing Sources

Noodletools
Use NoodleTools to cite your sources and create a list of works cited.
Purdue OWL: Research and Writing
An excellent guide to writing papers and citing sources properly, with many examples.