LibGuides: World Religions: Islam

Books and Documentaries in the Library

Mosques: Splendors of Islam
Call Number: OVR 726.2 IMB
ISBN: 9780847860357
Illustrates over sixty of the most venerated mosques from historic monuments such as the Great Mosque of Córdoba and Istanbul’s Süleymaniye Mosque to today’s most dynamic new designs exemplified by the Sancaklar Mosque. Mosques from Europe, the Indian subcontinent, North America, North Africa and the sub-Sahara, the Middle East, and Russia and the Caucasus are showcased. This book covers their earliest origins in Mecca and Medina to contemporary masterpieces, illuminating their stylistic transformations and providing examples from Islam’s great dynasties.
Mosque by David Macaulay
Call Number: OVR 726.2 MAC
ISBN: 0618240349
Creates a from-the-ground-up look at the actual construction of a mosque, and also at the uses of the various buildings, most of which will be unfamiliar to Westerners. In his preface, the artist states that he has based his imaginary mosque on the real structures of famous Ottoman architect, Sinan, who worked during the mid- to late-16th century.
Islamic Arts by Jonathan Bloom
Call Number: 709.176 BLO
ISBN: 071483176X
Traces the development of Islamic art during three broad periods, and shows how they reflect various aspects of Islamic culture. In the 1000 years following the revelations to the Prophet Muhammad in Mecca in the early seventh century AD, artists and craftsmen in the areas dominated by Islam produced some of the world's most beautiful works of art: from the Alhambra to the Taj Mahal, from illuminated copies of the Koran to exquisite decorative arts: ceramics, textiles, and metalwork.
Islam by Paul Lunde
Call Number: 297 L962i
ISBN: 0789487977
Discusses the origins and beliefs of Islam, the history of the Islamic world, Muslim contributions to the arts and sciences, and the impact of modern times, and provides facts about Islamic countries.
World Religions
Call Number: 200 BOW
ISBN: 9780756617721
Publication Date: 2006-02-20
A comprehensive overview of the beliefs and practices of a variety of different world religions draws on religious artifacts, explanations of sacred texts, paintings, architecture, and other teachings to provide explanations of Christianity, Judaism, Islam, Hinduism, Buddhism, Jainism, Sikhism, and other faiths.
Seven Wonders of the Muslim World
Call Number: DVD 720.9176 SEV
ISBN: 9781608831036
Documentary film: Features the Grand Mosque in Mecca; the Al-Aqsa Mosque in Jerusalem; the Alhambra in Granada, Spain; the Blue Mosque in Istanbul, Turkey; the Great Mosque of Djenné, Mali; the Imam Mosque in Esfahan, Iran; and the Badshahi Mosque in Lahore, Pakistan.
The hidden art of Islam
Call Number: DVD 709.17 HID
ISBN: 9781608839858
Documentary film. Muslim belief and tradition specifies that there should be no depictions of God or the Prophet Muhammad. These prohibitions have inspired a rich visual culture based on calligraphy, Arabesque floral designs, and geometry, all of which feature strongly in the art and design found throughout Islam.

Project Requirements

Requirements: Presentation length: 7 – 10 minutes. Use at least 3 sources.

Point out the following parts on your assigned mosque; explain how each part connects to Islam and/or to the past and current function of a mosque in its community:

Minaret
Kibla/Qibla
Kibla/Qibla wall
Mihrab
Prayer Hall
Minbar
Shadirvan/Sadirvan
Courtyard
Kulliye and its associated buildings (if included):
- Han
- Imaret
- Medrese
- Hamam

You must also explain the mosque’s

Decorative arts (calligraphic, geometric and “arabesque”)
Geography (please include location on map)
Historical significance
Dates of construction
Architectural significance

Library Resources Online

Oxford Reference
Oxford Reference is a database of reference e-books, all published by Oxford University Press. It includes many ebooks relevant to this course, such as A Dictionary of Hinduism and the Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic World.
Encyclopedia of Religion ebook
Use the search bar to the right of the publication information to search the full text of the e-book. The entry "Mosque: Architectural Aspects" will be of particular interest to this project.
Oxford Art Online (formerly Grove Art)
An essential source for art and architecture research. Try searching simply, "mosque", or the name of a particular mosque.

World Religions: Islam

Books and Documentaries in the Library

Project Requirements

Library Resources Online

Recommended Internet articles

Off campus?

Citing Sources