This is the "Library Resources" page of the "Sustainable Energy Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Sustainable Energy Resources   Tags: energy wind power solar power hydroelectric  

Find sources in print and online for researching sustainable energy technologies and related data
Last Updated: Oct 28, 2014 URL: http://kua.libguides.com/sustainable Print Guide RSS Updates

Library Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Books in the Library

Cover Art
Sustainable energy : choosing among options - Jefferson W. Tester, ed.
Call Number: REF 333.79 TES
Publication Date: 2005
For those with an interest in exploring energy resource options and technologies with a view toward achieving sustainability. Clearly presents the trade-offs and uncertainties inherent in evaluating and choosing different energy options and provides a framework for assessing policy solutions. Includes illustrative examples, problems, references for further reading, and links to relevant Web sites.

Cover Art
Energy alternatives : opposing viewpoints - Helen Cothran, ed.
Call Number: 333.79 C843e
Publication Date: 2002
A collection of articles debating the pro/cons and viability of many alternative energy methods, including nuclear, solar, wind, hydro, and geothermal.

Cover Art
Global resources : Opposing viewpoints - Clare Hanrahan, ed.
Call Number: 333.7 HAN
Publication Date: 2008
Contains several pro-con articles on sustainable energy issues, including: "Solar energy can effectively provide electricity" vs. "Solar energy is inefficient and impractical"; "Wind power is affordable and environmentally friendly" vs. "Wind power is unreliable and not environmentally friendly"; "Biofuels can replace gasoline" vs. "Biofuels are impractical".

Cover Art
Alternative energy - Neil Schlager
Call Number: REF 333.79 SCH
Publication Date: 2006
Three-volume set introduces students to issues surrounding both current energy sources and alternative energy options. Primary focus is on newer options to meet ever-growing demand, including wind and solar energy, fuel cells, hydropower, geothermal power and biomass energy. Entries discuss the science behind the energy source, notable scientists and scientific discoveries, current examples of use, and the issues, challenges and obstacles to large-scale use.

Cover Art
Geothermal power - Lorraine Savage
Call Number: 621.44 SAV
Publication Date: 2007
Explains how geothermal energy is made and used, with chapters on current and possible future use.

Cover Art
Water - Carrie Fredericks
Call Number: 333.914 FRE
Publication Date: 2006
Discusses using water as a source of energy and possible future developments in hydropower technology.

Cover Art
Energy use worldwide : a reference handbook - Jaina L. Moan
Call Number: REF 333.79 MOA
Publication Date: 2007
Discusses energy consumption's influential political figures and principal challenges (including issues specific to the U.S.) while clarifying conservation solutions. Includes illustrative tables and offers a glossary of essential terms. Each of its eight chapters concludes with two pages of reference material.

Cover Art
State of the world, 2008 : innovations for a sustainable economy - Linda Starke
Call Number: 338.9 STA
Publication Date: 2008
State of the World 2008 describes new innovations in sustainability--from microfinance to closed-loop manufacturing and the use of trusts to protect common resources--as well as identifying the obstacles that prevent a critical mass of people and organizations from moving toward sustainability, and rallying coalitions of stakeholders that can produce win-win solutions and strategies for achieving specific sustainability goals.

Cover Art
The green collar economy : how one solution can fix our two biggest problems - Van Jones
Call Number: 338.9 JON
Publication Date: 2009
Presents a substantive and viable plan for solving the biggest issues facing the United States--the failing economy and our devastated environment. From a distance, it appears that these two problems are separate, but when we look closer, the connection becomes unmistakable.

Library Databases (on campus or through Netilla)

Research databases containing high-quality academic articles.  The library suscribes to these and others appropriate for different subject areas.  Find a full list here.

Day students connecting from off-campus can email the librarians for a password.

  • KUA Library Catalog  
      
    Books, DVDs, and magazines at KUA. Type in the search term and click on author, title, or keyword. Try the power search to narrow down relevant works for a topic.
  • Access Science
    An online encyclopedia specifically for science. Look here for information about the technology and science behind your sustainable energy source. Try keyword searching by energy type: "solar energy", "hydropower", etc.
  • CQ Researcher
    CQ Researcher is a database of "current events" reports ranging from war and politics to science and technology. Try a keyword search for "renewable energy". Within the list of results you can sort by relevancy or date of publication.
  • Academic Search Premier and GreenFILE
    Different databases offered by the publishing company EBSCO, created for different subjects and reading levels. To search within two or more databases at the same time, check them off and then click "continue". For this project, use Academic Search Premier and GreenFILE.

Assistant Librarian

Profile Image
Christine Clisura
Contact Info
Send Email

Off campus?

There are two ways to get to the databases from off campus: use Netilla to log in virtually, or email the librarians for passwords to the databases.

Citing Sources

  • Noodletools
    Use NoodleTools to cite your sources and create a list of works cited.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip