This is the "Home" page of the "Special Topics in Science Research" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Special Topics in Science Research   Tags: research, science  

Last Updated: Oct 2, 2017 URL: http://kua.libguides.com/specialtopics Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Articles

Most of these sources are restricted to KUA users. Email the librarians for access from off campus.

  • Access Science  Icon
    Articles on science and technology, scientist biographies, illustrations and multimedia. Sources include the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology and Science News.
  • Britannica Online Academic  Icon
    The highly regarded general encyclopedia, with supplementary materials.
  • GreenFile  Icon
    Information covering all aspects of human impact on the environment from scholarly, governmental, and general-interest sources. Topics include global warming, green building, pollution, waste and recycling, renewable energy, and more.
  • EBSCO Explora  Icon
    A general database that draws articles from a mix of magazines, newspapers, and scholarly journals (as well as flags, maps, encyclopedia articles, and more).
  • CQ Researcher  Icon
    In-depth reports that cover current events, ranging from international relations and human rights to environmental issues, medical ethics and economics, and more. Most reports include timelines, graphs and charts, and pro/con debate sections.
  • Proquest Newsstand  Icon
    U.S. and international newspapers from the 1990s to the present.
  • Google Scholar  Icon
    Google Scholar includes thousands of academic journal articles, many of which are freely available or linked to KUA's subscription to JSTOR. The top-left menu includes an Advanced Search option (also directly accessible at advanced.google.com).
 

Suggested Search Strategies

Select the Advanced Search in each of the databases, and combine terms such as "lead poisoning" AND children or "lady's slipper" AND germination. Put words in quotation marks to search phrases.

Hints: If an obvious keyword (for example, "microplastic*") does not work, try searching variations of the word (such as, "plastic"). Combine with other terms, and use synonyms or more general terms (something like, "mussels" or "marine").

Boolean Logic

http://www.storyofmathematics.com/images2/boole_logic.gif

Image credit: The Story of Mathematics (Luke Mastin): http://www.storyofmathematics.com/19th_boole.html

Citing Sources

Off campus?

For access to the databases from off campus, email the librarians for passwords.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip