This is the "Home" page of the "World Religions" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

World Religions   Tags: culture, history, religion  

Last Updated: Sep 24, 2016 URL: http://kua.libguides.com/religion Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Famous Religious Leaders

Search for famous religious people in these biographical encyclopedias. To find out whether the library has an entire biography of a particular person, search the library catalog for the person's last name as the subject. 

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of World Biography (33 volumes, print) - Gale
Call Number: 920 B993e
Publication Date: 2008
The entire series of the Encyclopedia of World Biography, covering world figures through history. Each entry includes basic facts and an overview of the person's life and work.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of World Biography (e-book)
ISBN: 9780787691240
Publication Date: 2004
The first 22 volumes of this comprehensive biographical dictionary covers world figures with basic facts and an overview of their lives and works.

On the Web

  • BBC - Religion
    An excellent overview of the world's religions, with sections on holy days, food, history, etc.
 

Books in the Library

These are just a few of many books about religion in the library. Search the library catalog for the religion as subject, or use the Power Search to combine terms. 


Cover Art
The Sacred East
Call Number: OVR 299.5 LIT
Publication Date: 2003

Cover Art
The Rise of Christianity - Don Nardo (Editor)
Call Number: 270.1 N223r
Publication Date: 1998

Cover Art
Islam, Christianity, Judaism - Amelia Hipps
Call Number: 201 KAV
Publication Date: 2005

Cover Art
Atlas of the World's Religions - Ninian Smart (Editor); Frederick Denny
Call Number: OVR 200.022 SMA
Publication Date: 2007

Library Databases

  • Oxford Reference Online
    Included are 12 religion reference books, with general titles such as Concise Oxford Dictionary of World Religions and specific ones such as A Dictionary of Buddhism, Oxford Dictionary of Islam, and A Concise Companion to the Jewish Religion. These e-books are also linked from the library catalog.
  • Britannica Online Academic  Icon
    This is the place to get an overview of a religion or look up a concept or a person associated with a religion.
  • Country Reports
    Contemporary information about countries, including culture and religion as well as geography, population, and natural resources.

Head Librarian

Profile Image
Marianna McKim
Contact Info
Send Email

Off campus?

For access to the databases from off campus, email the librarians for passwords.

Citing Sources

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip