LibGuides: Special Topics in Science Research: Home

Articles

Most of these sources are restricted to KUA users (with the exception of PubMed and Google Scholar, which are freely available). Email the librarians for access to the databases from off-campus.

Britannica Online Academic
- This link opens in a new window
The highly regarded general encyclopedia, with supplementary materials.
Gale in Context: Science
Scholarly articles and news reports on science and technology, covering many fields. Search results will be categorized by type of source (for example, News, Academic Journals, Videos, Magazines).
Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
Excellent source for scholarly (academic) articles, with thousands of journals going back to 1975 or further.
GreenFile
- This link opens in a new window
Information covering all aspects of human impact on the environment from scholarly, governmental, and general-interest sources. Topics include global warming, green building, pollution, waste and recycling, renewable energy, and more.
JSTOR
Articles from over 1500 scholarly journals in all subject areas, going back to their first issues.
PubMed (National Institutes of Health)
A database created by the U.S. National Library of Medicine. Millions of biomedical articles from science and medical journals and reference books. Limit searches to full text for those with immediate access.
CQ Researcher
- This link opens in a new window
In-depth reports that cover current events, ranging from international relations and human rights to environmental issues, medical ethics and economics, and more. Most reports include timelines, graphs and charts, and pro/con debate sections.
Google Scholar
- This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar includes thousands of academic journal articles, many of which are freely available or linked to KUA's subscription to JSTOR. The top-left menu includes an Advanced Search option (also directly accessible at advanced.google.com).

Suggested Search Strategies

Select the Advanced Search in each of the databases, and combine terms such as "lead poisoning" AND children or "lady's slipper" AND germination. Put words in quotation marks to search phrases.

Hints: If an obvious keyword (for example, "microplastic*") does not work, try searching variations of the word (such as, "plastic"). Combine with other terms, and use synonyms or more general terms (something like, "mussels" or "marine").

How Boolean Logic Works: Searching with AND, OR, and NOT

Boolean Logic

Image credit: The Story of Mathematics (Luke Mastin): http://www.storyofmathematics.com/19th_boole.html

Off campus?

For access to the databases from off campus, email the librarians for passwords.

Special Topics in Science Research: Home

Articles

Suggested Search Strategies

How Boolean Logic Works: Searching with AND, OR, and NOT

Off campus?

Citing Sources