LibGuides: European History: General Resources

Library books

Search the KUA Library Catalog by keyword and sort your results. When you find relevant books, follow the subject headings. To refine results, add more keywords to your search (such as "italy" or "europe*"). You can also use the "not" function to eliminate terms (for example, NOT "harlem" to remove any books about the Harlem Renaissance).

Renaissance and Reformation by Patrick, James A.
Call Number: REF 940.21 PAT
Earthly powers : the clash of religion and politics in Europe from the French Revolution to the Great War. by Burleigh, Michael.
Call Number: 322 BUR
Publication Date: 2005
What Life Was Like in Europe's Romantic Era by Time-Life Books Editors
Call Number: 940.27 WHA
Publication Date: 2000
An account of daily life, art, culture, warfare, and politics in Europe during the Romantic Era, from 1789 to 1848.
Great events from history: Modern European series by Frank N. Magill
Call Number: REF 902 M194g
Publication Date: 1973

Library Databases

*Note: For off-campus use, you must get a username and password from one of the librarians*

Suggested search terms: evolution, creationism, intelligent design, reformation, science education

Britannica Online Academic
- This link opens in a new window
The highly regarded online encyclopedia has articles covering many aspects of history, including supplementary materials and links to outside resources. The article on the history of Europe is broken down into phases and covers all aspects of society. Password is required off campus.
Oxford Reference Online
A wealth of 100+ Oxford reference works covering many subjects. Includes a growing number of titles from the acclaimed Oxford Companions Series, plus the Oxford Dictionary of Quotations.
Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
Full text of thousands of academic (scholarly) journals, going back to 1975 or further.
JSTOR
A great database for scholarly articles, JSTOR has a wealth of articles from academic journals, going back to their first issues (but not including the past 3-5 years).
Salem History
Includes the series, Great Events from History, which gives a summary of important occurrences and their significance.

On the Web

These are great sources that are freely available on the web.

The British Museum
The British Museum has many good articles about various periods in British history.

Citing Sources

Noodletools
- This link opens in a new window
Purdue OWL: Research and Writing
MLA In-Text Citations (Purdue OWL)
Sample MLA Works Cited List (Purdue OWL)

Off campus?

For access to the databases from off campus, email the librarians for passwords.