This is the "Home" page of the "U.S. History after 1945" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

U.S. History after 1945  

Last Updated: Mar 31, 2014 URL: http://kua.libguides.com/postwar Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Books in the Library

Search the Destiny Online Catalog for keywords such as "postwar or post-war," or for certain events such as "Vietnam war," to locate books at KUA. Be sure to contact one of the librarians if you are not finding what you are looking for. 

Cover Art
Postwar America - Harvard Sitkoff
Call Number: RESERVE 973.92 SIT
Publication Date: 2000
A "thorough survey" on the era since the end of World War II, with extensive articles on events, people, and places, as well as a chronology and explanations of important concepts. On reserve at the Circulation desk for use in the Library.

Cover Art
The New York Times: the Complete Front Pages 1851-2009 - New York Times Staff
Call Number: OVR 909.8 NEW
Publication Date: 2009
As the title suggests, this book contains every front page of the New York Times for the 160 years covered. A superb source for browsing the important news stories of the time, day by day.

Cover Art
The Age of Abundance - Brink Lindsey
Call Number: 306.34 LIN
ISBN: 9780060747664
Publication Date: 2007

Cover Art
A Documentary History of the United States - Richard C. Heffner
Call Number: 973 HEF
Publication Date: 2002
This collection of historical documents includes J.F.K.'s inaugural address and George W. Bush's speeches after the 9/11 terrorist attacks, among other presidential writings.

 

Films in the Library

Cover Art
Vietnam: a Television History - WGBH Boston / American Experience
Call Number: DVD 959.7043 ELL
ISBN: 159375146X
Publication Date: 2004 (1983)
Exactly why was America in Vietnam? This remarkable and essential seven-volume series--six years in the making and originally broadcast on public television in 1983--tells the agonizing history of Vietnam's lengthy conflicts with some of the largest powers on Earth. (From the product description on Amazon.com)

Magazines and Journals

  • American Decades (database)
    This database has scholarly articles about historical events, people, and places, arranged by decade. NOTE: Use the drop-down menu to the right of the Table of Contents to select a decade.
  • American Heritage Magazine
    One of the most significant and popular magazines about the entire history of the United States, American Heritage has been published since 1954. Each issue contains articles on various people, places, and events, vetted by an editorial board of historians and illustrated with color drawings and photos. With an archive going back to the beginning of this magazine, this is a great place to delve into any historical topic that captures your interest!

Head Librarian

Profile Image
Marianna McKim
Contact Info
Send Email

Web Sites for U.S. History

  • National Portal to Historic Collections
    This site brings together images of unique artifacts from historical museums and organizations around the country. The site is managed by the American Heritage Society for the Nonprofit Cooperative of America’s Historical Institutions.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip