This is the "Resources" page of the "Ancient Mythology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Ancient Mythology  

A guide to finding resources on ancient Roman, Greek, and Egyptian mythology, both in the library and on the web
Last Updated: Oct 29, 2014 URL: http://kua.libguides.com/mythology Print Guide RSS Updates
Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Books in Our Library

Here are a few of the books we have on this topic in the library.  To find more, try searching the catalog for "mythology" or "gods", and click Keyword.

Cover Art
Book of Greek myths - Ingri D'Aulaire
Call Number: OVR 291.13 DAU
Publication Date: 2003
ON RESERVE - ask at the desk!

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of world mythology - Arthur Cotterell
Call Number: 201 COT
Publication Date: 2002
ON RESERVE - ask at the desk!
An intriguing collection of myths and beliefs from all over the globe, offering a wealth of information on the religions, customs, and influences of history's most fascinating cultures and civilizations.

Cover Art
The complete world of Greek mythology - Richard Buxton
Call Number: 291.13 BUX
Publication Date: 2004
ON RESERVE - ask at desk!
Combines a retelling of Greek myths with a comprehensive account of the world in which they developed--their themes, their relevance to Greek religion and society, and their relationship to the landscape. Includes detailed genealogy tables of gods and heroes and specially commissioned maps.

E-Books

Now you can find links to searchable eBooks in the Library Catalog!  These are designated by the little blue "e" logo on the left of the page, and "electronic resource" after the title.  Currently our eBook collection is comprised mostly of reference books--over a hundred--which are available through Oxford University Press. If you are off campus, the librarians can give you a password to log in. 

Here are two eBooks that may be helpful.  Follow the Electronic Access link to see the eBook.  Use the search bar to find a specific god or topic (such as "roman mythology"), or click on "Browse this book" to use the virtual index to look through the book alphabetically.

On the Web

Some great resources that are available for free on the web:

  • BBC History: Ancient history in-depth
    The BBC's History page contains sections on ancient Greece, Rome, Egypt, India, and more. Here you will find essays written by professors and scholars and detailed photo guides.
  • Greek Mythology Link: Biographies
    A website version of Carlos Parada's book, Genealogical Guide to Greek Mythology. Detailed biographies of Greek mythological characters, both human and divine, with illustrative passages and family trees.
  • Tour Egypt – An Overview of Ancient Egyptian Religion
    An extensive, thoroughly cross-referenced site commissioned by the Egyptian Ministry of Tourism. You can find related articles at the bottom of the page (“Individual Ancient Egyptian Gods”, role of priests, animal cults, etc).
 

Greek Gods video

Find more videos on the ancient world at History.com

“Greek Gods.” The History Channel website. A&E Television Networks, LLC, 2011. Web. 13 Sep. 2011. http://www.history.com/videos/greek-gods.

Library Databases

In both of these databases, try searching for a specific god or goddess, or search “Roman Mythology” or “Egyptian Religion”, etc, for longer overview articles:

  • Encyclopedia Britannica
  • Oxford Reference Online Premium
  • KUA Library Catalog
    Books and documentaries on DVD at KUA. Try a keyword search to get the most results on a topic: "mythology", for example. Using more than one word as a keyword search will return only items that contain all of those words, in that exact order. Searching "egyptian mythology" will only give you three books. Instead, use the Power search tool to narrow down. For example, click on the Power tool and search "egypt OR egyptian AND mythology" and you'll get nine books.

Assistant Librarian

Profile Image
Christine Clisura
Contact Info
Send Email

Off campus?

For access to the databases from off campus, email the librarians for passwords.

Citing Sources

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip