This is the "Resources" page of the "Civil Rights Leaders" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Civil Rights Leaders  

Sources for Mrs. Gray's "Civil Rights Perspectives" project
Last Updated: Feb 21, 2013 URL: http://kua.libguides.com/leaders Print Guide RSS Updates

Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Books in Our Library

Here are a few of the books we have on these civil rights leaders in the library.  To find more, try searching the catalog specifically for your person's name -- for example type "angela davis", and click Keyword.

Cover Art
Africana : the encyclopedia of the African and African American experience - Kwame Anthony Appiah
Call Number: REF 960 KWA
An excellent first step! This reference book contains nearly 4500 entries related to African and African-American history. You will find information here for every person on Mrs. Gray's list

Cover Art
Eyes on the prize - Juan Williams
Call Number: 323.4 WIL
Sections on Fannie Lou Hamer, Medgar Evers, James Farmer, and MLK, Jr.

Cover Art
Early Black reformers - James Tackach
Call Number: 323.11 TAC
Contains essays written by and about early black civil rights advocates, including Booker T. Washington, Marcus Garvey, and W.E.B. DuBois.

Cover Art
Freedom's daughters: the unsung heroines of the Civil Rights Movement from 1830 to 1970. - Olson, Lynne
Call Number: 323.092 OLS
ISBN: 0684850133
Includes portraits of more than sixty women from the Civil Rights movement, including Fannie Lou Hamer

Cover Art
Ripples of hope : great American civil rights speeches - Josh Gottheimer
Call Number: 323.1 GOT
Ripples of Hope spans the colonial period to the present, and is filled with the speeches of leaders famous and obscure, including Booker T Washington, W. E. B. Du Bois, Marcus Garvey, Martin Luther King, Jr and Malcolm X.

On the Web

Some great resources that are available for free on the web:

  • Civil Rights Digital Library
    A collection of primary source photographs, footage, documents, and interviews from museums and news corporations across the country. Use the menu on the left side to search by Media Type for news footage, letters, etc. Or find all sources related to a particular famous day or event.
  • Voices of Civil Rights
    Online exhibition at the Library of Congress
  • Say it Plain, Say it Loud
    "Public speech making has played a powerful role in the long struggle by African Americans for equal rights. This collection, for the ear and the eye, highlights speeches by an eclectic mix of black leaders."
 

News Footage Clip

This video segment profiles the life and leadership of Fannie Lou Hamer, a civil rights activist who co-chaired the Mississippi Freedom Democratic Party. Hamer testified at the 1964 Democratic National Convention, challenging Mississippi's all-white Democratic Party delegation and advocating for African American voting rights and representation.

"Fannie Lou Hamer." Teachers' Domain. 18 Jun. 2004. Web. 26 Jan. 2012. <http://www.teachersdomain.org/resource/iml04.soc.ush.civil.hamer/>

Library Databases

  • KUA Library Catalog
    Books and documentaries on DVD at KUA. Try a keyword search to get the most results on a topic. Use the "Power" search tool to narrow down: for example, search "civil rights" AND "malcolm x" for items about Malcolm X's role in the Civil Rights movement.
  • Encyclopedia Britannica
    A very current, general, easy-to-use database -- a great alternative to Wikipedia! Simply search by person's name, event, or topic: "booker t washington", "brown v board of education", "great migration", etc.
  • Current Biography
    In-depth articles about people in the news, from 1940 to the present. When searching, be sure to select Current Biography to search only that database.
  • Student Research Center
    A general database that draws articles from a mix of magazines, newspapers, and scholarly journals. Try an advanced search and combine different keywords. For example, enter your person's name into one field AND "legacy", "conflict", etc in another.
  • Proquest Historical Newspapers
    A great place to look for primary sources -- every issue ever published by the NY Times, Washington Post, LA Times, and the Hartford Courant. Before you search, try narrowing down by decade (1950s, for example) under Advanced Search to get the most relevant results. If you are looking for a particular event, you can even choose a specific day!

Assistant Librarian

Profile Image
Christine Clisura
Contact Info
Send Email

Off campus?

There are two ways to get to the databases from off-campus: use Netilla to log-in virtually, or email us for passwords to the databases.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip