The Industrial Revolution in England and the United States - resources from the library and on the web
Last Updated: Oct 3, 2016
Here are a few of the books and films we have on this topic in the library catalog. To find more, try a keyword search. For example, type "industrialization" and click Keyword.
U-X-L Industrial Revolution Reference Library.
Call Number: 909.81 O93i
Publication Date: 2003
Four-volume encyclopedia divided into Almanac, Biographies, Primary Sources, and index. "Almanac" provides an overview of the era beginning in the mid-1700s in Great Britain, which transformed an agricultural society to a complex industrial society. "Primary Sources" presents excerpts from speeches, diaries, newspaper accounts, and other documents from the Industrial Revolution era. "Biographies" profiles twenty-five of the most dynamic figures of the Industrial Revolution. This set does not circulate; it must be used in the library..
Call Number: OVR 909.81 C591i
Describes the dramatic technological, industrial, and social changes brought about by the Industrial Revolution in America and Europe.
The Industrial Revolution
Call Number: 909.81 IND
Publication Date: 2002-04-22
The development of industrialization in the mid-1700s sparked a surge in technology that changed the world. Chapters in this anthology discuss the great inventions of the industrial revolution and their unprecedented effects -- both beneficial and harmful -- on society.
English urban life: 1776-1851
Call Number: 941.076 W242e
Discusses the changes caused by the industrialization of the mid-1700s in England. Covers the changes in social classes and working-class life; the massive influx of people to the cities from the countryside, the problems caused by this migration, and the political response to it.
David Lean's Oliver Twist
Call Number: DVD 823 DIC
Expressionistic noir photography suffuses David Lean’s Oliver Twist with a nightmarish quality, fitting its bleak, industrial setting. In Dickens’ classic tale, an orphan wends his way from cruel apprenticeship to den of thieves in search of a true home.
Call Number: 941.081 SWI
Publication Date: 2001
When Victoria became queen, the industrial revolution had already launched technological and economic innovations that changed social and cultural life. This book traces a society in motion, from a rural to an urban-industrial culture, from a European presence to a powerful international sphere of influence, from rigid class distinctions to increased democracy, and from superstitions to scientific perspectives.
"These are prints of young persons included in Lord Ashley's report on children in mining from 1842. Although children under ten and all women and girls were banned from working underground as a result of the report, boys over ten continued to be used underground...They show how young persons were used to move the coal to the surface."
From the British National Archives
Some great resources that are available for free on the web:
- BBC History: British History
Within the section "Victorian Britain (1837-1901)" you will find many articles on technology and innovation, daily life and health, social reform, and the divisions between social classes during the time of the Industrial Revolution.
- British National Archives: Victorian Britain
Explore the world of Victorian Britain through this interactive website filled with primary sources such as interviews, sketches, and official reports, as well as essays on different aspects of the Industrial day and age.
An immensely extensive and well-organized world history site created by Bamber Gascoigne, reaching from the prehistoric to the present day. There are two ways to browse the site: by keyword ("Histories") or by timeline. The Timelines section is broken down by century, country, continent, empire, or theme (religion, science, etc).
- BBC News: "Did Charles Dickens really save poor children and clean up the slums?"
Through his many novels, Charles Dickens depicted the poverty and squalor common throughout many neighborhoods in Victorian London. He gave the poor and disenfranchised a voice and brought their horrible living conditions to the attention of middle- and upper-class British society.
- PBS: Down and Out in Victorian London
A short essay on the Victorian attitude towards the poor and The Poor Laws, the The Poor Law Commission of 1832, and the child labor laws of the time.
Explore the science behind Thomas Newcomen's steam engine design. Many more videos on inventions from the Industrial Revolution are available to watch in Discovery's Industrial Revelations series.
Massive Engines: Newcomen Steam Engine. Host. by Chris Barrie. HowStuffWorks. Discovery Channel, n.d. Web. 24 Feb. 2012.
**Note! if you are accessing these databases from off-campus you will need to email one of the librarians for a password or use the link to Netilla on the right side of this guide.
- Encyclopedia Britannica
A great alternative to Wikipedia! Use Britannica to gather general information as you start out with your research (simply search by keyword; e.g. "industrial revolution", "poor laws", "workhouses", etc). In each article, follow the cross-reference links in blue, and the links to related articles at the bottom of the page to find more information.
- Academic Search Premier
For exploring your theme through in-depth research. This database is a great place to look for scholarly articles on history, the sciences, the humanities, politics, and more. Use the Advanced Search to narrow in on a topic.