This is the "Home" page of the "Hijab Debate" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Hijab Debate  

Find sources relating to the Muslim global diaspora and relevant current events issues
Last Updated: Sep 4, 2013 URL: http://kua.libguides.com/hijab Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Books in Our Library

Here are a few of the books we have on this topic in the library.  To find more, try searching the catalog for "islam" or "muslim", etc, and click Keyword

Cover Art
Muslims around the world today - Philip Wolny, editor
Call Number: 297.09 WOL
Publication Date: 2009
Explores the diversity of Muslims around the world, discussing differences in beliefs and practices between different groups and the challenges that Muslims face wherever they live.

Cover Art
Islam : opposing viewpoints - Jennifer Hurley, editor
Call Number: 297.2 H965i
Publication Date: 2001
Political analysts, Islamic scholars, and media commentators provide opposing views on issues surrounding Islam and Muslims throughout the world. Topics include: whether Islamic and Western values are in conflict, the status of women under Islam, whether Islam promotes terrorism, and what policies the United States should take toward Islam.

Cover Art
Islamophobia : the ideological campaign against Muslims - Stephen Sheehi
Call Number: 305.6 SHE
Publication Date: 2011
Examines the rise of anti-Muslim and anti-Arab sentiments in the West, including the increased mainstreaming of Muslim-baiting rhetoric and legislation, police surveillance, witch-trials and discriminatory policies towards Muslims in North America and abroad.

Cover Art
How does it feel to be a problem? : being young and Arab in America - Moustafa Bayoumi
Call Number: 305.892 BAY
Publication Date: 2008
Profiles seven men and women of Arab and Muslim descent living in Brooklyn, exploring the cliches and stereotypes they must contend with on a daily basis and the experiences they have had since September 11, 2001.

Cover Art
Life under the Taliban - Gail B. Stewart
Call Number: 958.104 STE
Publication Date: 2005
This book discusses the history of Afghanistan, the rise and fall of the Taliban, and daily life under the regime.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of human rights - David P. Forsythe
Call Number: REF 323.03 FOR
Publication Date: 2009
Five-volume encyclopedia covers important people, organizations and institutions, human rights events and crises, and human rights standards. Go alphabetically for a more general article (look up "Afghanistan", for example) or use the index in Volume 5 to search for related articles by topic.

Library Databases


  • Country Reports  
      
    In-depth country reports, especially useful for finding cultural information such as religion, family life, fashion, recreation and holidays. Also includes a great Current Events section for each country.
  • CQ Global Researcher
    A great starting point for current events issues. Find in-depth reports on issues such as international relations and human rights. You can also choose to browse by your specific country. Most reports include timelines, graphs and charts, and pro/con debate sections.
  • Proquest Newsstand  Icon
    International newspaper articles from the 1990s to the present. Use this database to find out different points of view on a current events issue, or how an event was covered around the world. Try using the Advanced Search to combine different keywords--for example, "France" and "Islam".
  • Academic Search Premier
    For exploring your theme through in-depth research. This database is a great place to look for scholarly articles on history, the sciences, the humanities, politics, and more. Use the Advanced Search to narrow in on a topic.
 

CQ Researcher Report: Europe's Immigration Turmoil

Here is an example of the reports you will find in CQ Global Researcher.  You can find comprehensive, pro-and-con reports on many other current-events topics in the CQ Researcher and CQ Global Researcher databases.

 

French news report: Hijab Ban

Television news coverage on the hijab debate from Paris-based news channel FRANCE 24. "FRANCE 24 gives a French perspective to international current events through diversity of opinions, debate and confrontation of viewpoints."

Find more news videos and articles at FRANCE 24 online.

Resources on the Web

  • BBC Religions: Guide to Hijab and Niqab
    An explanatory guide to the different types of veils worn by Muslim women. Includes illustrations and textual basis and distinctions from the Muslim Qur'an (Koran).
  • Spiegel Online: "Burqa Bans" section
    Online English-language version of the German magazine, Der Spiegel. They have a special section which pulls together all of their news articles and opinion pieces related to the issue of the burqa bans in Europe.
  • Pew Research Center: Muslims in Europe
    A 2006 report from the Pew Research Center, a nonpartisan institute based in Washington, DC. The institute "provides information on the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world" through the use of global public opinion surveys.

Assistant Librarian

Profile Image
Christine Clisura
Contact Info
Send Email

Citing Sources

  • Noodletools
    Use NoodleTools to cite your sources and create a list of works cited.

Off campus?

There are two ways to get to the databases from off-campus: use Netilla to log-in virtually, or email us for passwords to the databases.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip