Innovations that have had lasting and far-reaching impact on life, even today.
Last Updated: Sep 24, 2016
Here are a few of the books we have on this topic in the library. Some books for this project have been put aside on Reserve at the Main Desk in the library. To find additional books in the Reading Room, try a Power search in the library catalog.
Ancient Egyptian Civilization
Call Number: 932.01 ANC
Publication Date: 2000
Covers the royalty, religion, accomplishments, rise, decline, and legacy of this ancient civilization. Includes a short summary of the history of Egypt including two maps.
Roman Roads and Aqueducts
Call Number: 937.06 NAR
Publication Date: 2001
Describes the construction of roads and aqueducts in ancient Rome, life and customs along the roads, water distribution and aqueduct maintenance, and the building of bridges.
The Spirit world
Call Number: OVR 970.1 AME
Publication Date: 1992
Discusses the spirit world rites of the Indians of North America with information on visions, medicine, relationship to animals, and more.
Cultural Atlas of Africa
Call Number: OVR 960 MUR
Publication Date: 1998
Provides a survey of the culture, history, and geography of Africa, featuring a new chapter on prehistoric man and new illustrations.
Call Number: 972.01 N476m
Publication Date: 2002
Examines the religion, art, architecture, society, and intellectual pursuits of the ancient Maya--including the creation of their calendar.
The First Armies
Call Number: 355.3 D272f
Publication Date: 2002
Shows how the earliest civilizations developed military institutions and dedicated war-making technologies from chariots to siege engines.
Guns, Germs, and Steel
Call Number: 303.4 DIA
Publication Date: 2005
This book reviews the development of agriculture, technology, and social structures throughout human history and across cultures.
The history of the ancient world : from the earliest accounts to the fall of Rome
Call Number: 930 BAU
Guides readers on a tour of the ancient worlds of Sumer, Egypt, India, China, Greece, Mesopotamia and Rome. Drawing on epics, legal texts, private letters and court histories, the author introduces individuals who lived through the famines, plagues, floods, wars and empire building of the ancient world: the marvelous array of characters includes Gilgamesh, Sumer's first epic hero; Yù, the founder of the Xia dynasty in China; and Tiglath-Pileser III, who restored the Assyrian empire's fortunes. Includes timelines and maps.
** Day students! Please note that all library databases, including Britannica Academic, require a login in order to access them off-campus. Email us for a list of database usernames and passwords.
- KUA Library Catalog
Books and documentaries at KUA. Try a Power search to combine different search terms. For example: an asterisk, e.g. egypt*, will find books with any variation of the root by searching for "egypt" and "egyptian" at the same time.
egypt AND construction
- Encyclopedia Britannica
The academic alternative to Wikipedia! A very current, easy-to-use, general database. Try a simple keyword search, such as "ancient egypt", to get a list of related articles. Or you can search the name of a particular dynasty or ruler to get more details.
- Oxford Reference Online
An online collection of Oxford reference ebooks covering many subjects. Try combining several keywords by "adding a row" to your search (on the left side of your search results).
- Chinese Compass History: Invention, Dynasty and Navigation (Learn Chinese History)
The early development and uses of the compass in China are discussed.
- A Visual Sourcebook of Chinese Civilization
Created by history professor Patricia Buckley Ebrey, the Visual Sourcebook features a timeline accompanied by exclusive maps which show how the borders and territories of ancient China changed from dynasty to dynasty
- What Native Americans Can Teach Us About Using Trees For Survival (Off the Grid News)
This is a great overview of how American Indians used trees for food, medicine and other purposes.
- Stone Tools (Quatr.us)
Introductory overview of early tool-making.
- The Maya Calendar (Smithsonian)
A detailed description of the Maya calendar with interesting insights into how it is still used today.
- Building the Great Pyramid (BBC)
A great discussion of the debate around the building of the great structure and the methods used in its construction.
- Tour Egypt: Ancient Egypt
A website commissioned by the Egyptian Ministry of Tourism. You can find articles on government, historic figures, religion and funeral rites, and culture on the right side of the page.
An extensive and well-organized world history site created by Bamber Gascoigne, reaching from the prehistoric to the present day. There are two ways to browse the site: by keyword ("Histories") or by timeline. The Timelines section is broken down by century, country, continent, empire, or theme (religion, science, etc).
- The Secrets of Ancient Roman Concrete (History.com)
Discusses the recent analysis of Roman concrete and its possible implications for construction today.
- Observing the Sky through the Eyes of the Ancient Mayans (Science Scope)
An excellent article about the Maya and their observations of time.
- Native American Medicine (e-book)
Each of the chapters in this book covers different elements of medicine as practiced by American Indians in both North and South America. Click on "2003" on the right side of the screen (maybe twice) to bring up all the chapters.