This is the "Resources" page of the "Comparative Politics: Country Profiles" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Comparative Politics: Country Profiles  

Last Updated: Oct 13, 2016 URL: http://kua.libguides.com/comppolitics Print Guide RSS Updates
Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 

Background Information (Databases and Web Sites)

Off campus?

For access to the databases from off campus, email the librarians for passwords.

Citing Sources

Current Events Issues (Databases and Web Sites)

Both the BBC and NY Times profile sections contain a summary of the country's more recent history, followed by a list of related current events articles at the bottom of the page.

  • BBC News Country Profiles
  • NY Times: Times Topics
  • The Oxford Companion to Comparative Politics*
    This searchable, online eBook fills a gap in scholarship on an increasingly important field within Political Science. The Companion focuses on the major theories, concepts, and conclusions that define the field. Entries cover such topics as failed states, grand strategies, soft power, capital punishment, gender and politics, and totalitarianism, as well as countries such as China and Afghanistan.
  • CQ Researcher *
    A great starting point for current events issues. Find in-depth reports on issues such as international relations and human rights. You can also choose to browse by your specific country. Most reports include timelines, graphs and charts, and pro/con debate sections.
  • Proquest Newsstand *  Icon
    International newspaper articles from the 1990s to the present. Use this database to find out different points of view on a current events issue, or how an event was covered around the world. Try using the Advanced Search to combine different keywords--for example, "France" and "Islam".
 

Books in Our Library

Cover Art
The concise encyclopedia of economics - edited by David R. Henderson
Call Number: REF 330.03 HEN
Entries cover numerous topics including basic concepts, discrimination and labour issues, corporations and financial markets, issues in economic history, economics of legal issues, regulation, environmental regulation, taxes, economic policy, macroeconomics, money and banking, international economics, economics outside the United States, economic systems, schools of economic thought, and more.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of human rights - David P. Forsythe, editor in chief
Call Number: REF 323.03 FOR
Offers comprehensive coverage of all aspects of human rights theory, practice, law, and history. The coverage includes major figures, organizations and institutions, human rights events and crises, and human rights norms.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip