This is the "Resources" page of the "Civil Rights" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Civil Rights  

A guide to finding resources relating to the African American and Native American civil rights movements, both in the Library and on the web
Last Updated: Jan 30, 2015 URL: http://kua.libguides.com/civilrights Print Guide RSS Updates

Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 

On the Web

Some great resources that are available for free on the web:

  • Civil Rights Digital Library
    A collection of primary source photographs, footage, and interviews from museums and news corporations across the country. Use the menu on the left side to search by Media Type for news footage, letters, etc. Or find all sources related to a particular famous day or event.
  • Sequoyah Research Center: American Native Press Archives
    Online collection of manuscripts, first-hand accounts, poetry, art, and literature that “documents all aspects of Indian Life from the Indian perspective.”
  • Voices of Civil Rights
    Online exhibition at the Library of Congress
 

News Footage Clip

WALB newsfilm clip of reporter Jim Knight interviewing white citizens about their opinion of a proposed civil rights bill in Albany, Georgia, 1964.  Find more videos and other primary source documents at the Civil Rights Digital Library (see link above).

From the WALB News Film collection, Albany Movement Compilation Roll 6 [Tape 2], Walter J. Brown Media Archives and Peabody Award Collection, The University of Georgia Libraries, Athens, Ga., as presented in the Digital Library of Georgia.

Library Databases

  • KUA Library Catalog
    Books and documentaries on DVD at KUA. Try a keyword search to get the most results on a topic. Use the "Power" search tool to narrow down: for example, search "civil rights" AND "malcolm x" for items about Malcolm X's role in the Civil Rights movement.
  • Proquest Historical Newspapers
    A great place to look for primary sources -- every issue ever published by the NY Times, Washington Post, LA Times, and the Hartford Courant. Before you search, try narrowing down by decade (1960s, for example) under Advanced Search to get the most relevant results. If you are looking for a particular event, you can even choose a specific day!
  • CQ Researcher
    A great starting point for current events issues. Find in-depth reports on the state of Native or African American communities in the U.S. today. Most reports include timelines, graphs and charts, and pro/con debate sections.

Assistant Librarian

Profile Image
Christine Clisura
Contact Info
Send Email

Off campus?

For access to the databases from off campus, email the librarians for passwords.

Citing Sources

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip