This is the "Library Resources" page of the "Biomes Project Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Biomes Project Resources   Tags: communities, ecology, environment, science  

Last Updated: Sep 24, 2016 URL: http://kua.libguides.com/biomes Print Guide RSS Updates

Library Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Books in the Library

Cover Art
UXL Encyclopedia of Biomes - Weigel, Marlene, ed.
Call Number: REF 577 WEI
Publication Date: 2000
Comprehensive information on twelve of the Earth's major biomes and their many component ecosystems.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of the Biosphere - Ramon Folch i Guillen; Josep Ma Camarasa
Call Number: 577 F663e
Publication Date: 1999
An 11-volume encyclopedia organized by type of ecosystem (e.g., v. 6. Temperate rainforests; v. 7. Deciduous forests; v. 8. Prairies and boreal forests)

Cover Art
Deserts - Stoppato, Marco
Call Number: REF 551.4 STO
Publication Date: 2003
An illustrated handbook that examines the eco-systems of 49 major deserts




Cover Art
Silent snow : the slow poisoning of the Arctic - Cone, Marla
Call Number: 363.738 CON
Publication Date: 2005
An award-winning US environmental journalist travels to the Arctic to investigate why its inhabitants are heavily impacted by pollution, despite the region's image as one of the last pristine places.

Cover Art
The Blue Planet - Alastair Fothergill; Martha Holmes; Andrew Byatt; David Attenborough; Dorling Kindersley Publishing Staff
Call Number: OVR 551.46 BYA
ISBN: 0789482657
Publication Date: 2002
From rarely seen creatures of the deep to the birds and fish seen in coastal regions, this book reveals the diverse wildlife found in six distinct habitats that make up the watery parts of our world.

Cover Art
Forests - Jaboury Ghazoul
Call Number: 333.75 GHA
Publication Date: 2015

Library Databases (on campus or through Netilla)

Suggested keyword searches: biomes, habitat, environment

  • KUA Library Catalog
    Books at KUA. Type in the search term and click on author, title, or keyword. Try the power search to identify relevant works for a topic.
  • Access Science
    Articles on science and technology, scientist biographies , illustrations and multimedia. Sources include the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology and Science News.
  • CQ Researcher
    Great starting point for issues and current events. You will not find "biomes" in this database, but search for other terms such as "ecosystems" or "conservation" for in-depth reports giving an overview and analysis.
  • Proquest Newsstand  Icon
    U.S. and international newspapers from the 1990s to the present. Search all newspapers or a subset: United States, international (excluding U.S.), or Latin American (only).

Off campus?

For access to the databases from off campus, email the librarians for passwords.

Citing Sources

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip