How to find information about people.
Last Updated: Oct 18, 2016
The following titles are biographical encyclopedias with entries about many people. To find out whether the library has an entire biography of a particular person, search the Destiny Library Catalog for the person by last name as the subject.
Encyclopedia of World Biography (33 volumes, print)
Call Number: 920 B993e
Publication Date: 2008
The entire series of the Encyclopedia of World Biography, covering world figures through history. Each entry includes basic facts and an overview of the person's life and work.
Encyclopedia of World Biography (e-book)
Publication Date: 2004
The first 22 volumes of this comprehensive biographical dictionary covers world figures with basic facts and an overview of their lives and works.
- KUA Library Catalog
Books here in the KUA Library. For biographical information, search a person's last name as the subject. Try also a keyword search for the person's name, both with last name first and with first name first.
- NHU-PAC (New Hampshire Libraries)
Find books in libraries across the state. The librarians can usually obtain these books through Inter-Library Loan.
- Dartmouth College Library Catalog
Books at the Dartmouth College Library can usually be obtained by us through Inter-Library Loan, either from Dartmouth or from another library in the state. Ask one of the librarians!
This catalog shows books in libraries around the USA and also around the world!
- Britannica Online Academic
The highly regarded general encyclopedia, with supplementary materials.
- EBSCO Explora
Magazines, journal, and newspapers articles, as well as reference books.
- Proquest Newsstand
U.S. and international newspapers from the 1990s to the present. Search all newspapers or a subset: United States, international (excluding U.S.), or Latin American (only).
- Oxford Reference Online
Oxford Reference has many reference e-books. Browse by subject or search across the books.
Player profiles and selected articles for most sports; drill down among including the NFL, MBA, MLB, NCAAF, etc. (other sports are under ... )
- Artists (Rolling Stone)
Articles that appeared in the iconic music magazine. For many artists, there is an overview biography ("Bio" in the left menu).